Pi (π)

December 24, 2007

How many of you know that the formula to calculate the circumference of a circle is 2πr (where r = the radius of the circle)?

Now how many of you also inferred that π = C / d? That is, that the value of pi (3.1415926… blah blah) is equal to the circumference of a circle divided by its diameter?

It seems to make perfect sense… but I can tell you that I have NEVER, to my recollection, been taught the value of π in this way. I was expected to memorize it as a constant. And this begs the question… WHY?!

If circle after circle after circle follows this simple equation (again, which is easily inferred based on the formula for the circumference of a circle), that π is equal to the circumference of a circle divided by its diameter, why wasn’t THAT driven home in our brains instead of, the value of π equals 3.14…?

Anyway… where did I find this out? I was reading an old book I have on how to use my Texas Instruments calculator. Pretty neat book. And at least it solved one of life’s great mysteries!

Leave a Reply

