Poka Yoke

February 29, 2008

We all definitely need this in our lives. Poka yoke is the Japanese term meaning “error avoidance,” or in more colloquial terms mistake-proofing. A good example is to put your cellphone or your keys in your shoes to ensure that you don’t forget them on your way out the door.

Why do I bring it up? Because I somehow misplaced my USB thumb-drive. It wasn’t where it was supposed to be, which was in my USB hub. In order to avoid issues in finding it, I always put it back into the hub as soon as I return. This way, it’s always in its place.

Well, it turns out it was in its other place. You know, the place where it is supposed to be when it’s not where it’s supposed to be, id est, with all my pocket change.

I bring this up only because having searched my book sack in the spot where I’d normally keep my USB drive, I found my friggin’ PASSPORT!

So somebody tell me what kind of Poka Yoke can I use for that because obviously what I got ain’t workin’!

One Response to “Poka Yoke”

  1. Chase Says:

    Hey Mark, as you know my wife is Japanese. Neither of us have ever heard this term. Where’d it come from?


Leave a Reply

