Coincidence or Master Plan?

March 8, 2008

March 7th entry from Daily Reflections for Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey:

“Synergy means that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. It means that the relationship the parts have to each other is a part in and of itself. It is not only a part, but the most catalytic, the most empowering, the most unifying, and the most exciting part.

The creative process is also the most terrifying part because you don’t know exactly what’s going to happen or where it is going to lead. You don’t know what new dangers and challenges you’ll find. It takes an enormous amount of internal security to begin with the spirit of adventure, discovery, and creativity. Without doubt, you have to leave the comfort zone of base camp and confront an entirely new and unknown wilderness.”

Coincidence:  I have had this book by my bedside for months without picking it up, that is, except to move it from my California bedside to my Atlanta bedside.  Of all days to pick it up for a quick read before hitting the sack, I do so on the night of March 7th.

Master Plan:  This entry speaks so directly to what I’m currently feeling with my new company that it makes me nervous at how uncanny the universe is.  But I also feel a sense of relief because life is full of signs, you just have to pay attention to them as you pass by.  I’d like to believe this is one of those signs.

Leave a Reply

