Oh how I miss Telnet!

March 29, 2008

Ok, for most of my friends, if I say telnet, they say “huh?”  Telnet.  Huh?  Telnet. Huh?Before the invention of the browser, the world wide web had to be accessed from the command line.  And oh how I used to love telnet-ing to servers around the world to do all kinds of uber-productive activities that ultimately resulted in the mapping of the human genome and other great discoveries.  Ok, I’m lying.  I played games.  I played multi-user dungeon type games affectionately known as MUD’s, the text-based forerunners to today’s massive multi-player online role-playing games (MMORPG’s)…Anyway, I’m not here to reminisce!  I’m here to link you to the most rad find of the day!  Watch Star Wars in ASCII!  The link will take you to a page that describes the beauty of the thing and then spells out how you do this (it’s really quite simple, open a DOS window on PC’s or the Terminal on Macs, you Linux users are already smart enough to figure it out (no offense to the rest of the lot)).Damn I love old school technology!

Leave a Reply

