Wedding at the Neighborhood Pool

September 13, 2009

My neighbors got married tonight, at the neighborhood pool.  Some people think that this is to the point of being redneck.  But I’ll vouch that it is often much more fun than the stuffy church/reception fare.  I say often, but I’ve only been to two.  But to each their own.  Anyway, if you’ve never been to one, a poolside wedding that is, it’s pretty amazing because you may have never have thought that an occasion such as a wedding could be so casual.

I think the term nowadays is non-traditional.  And this one did not disappoint.  The groom was in short pants!  And the guests were smoking and drinking during the ceremony.  And some were even contributing their opinions when the vows were being said!

The other thing that made me chuckle was that the groom kept kissing the bride all through the ceremony.  And she just loved it.  Someone spoke up that maybe he should wait until the reverend officially pronounced them man and wife.  In good cheer he said, “I’ll adjust!”  =]

It was extremely sweet and sentimental with personal vows and even a guitar song by the groom.  I didn’t go in expecting much.  But I left a whole lot happier.

A couple of notes on the pictures…  the bride made her own cake to resemble the Corona commercial!  Have you ever seen someone with their own wedding toilet paper?  I had to do a double-take because I thought it was Halloween paper or something, but sure enough, it’s a bride and groom on there to help you clean up.  =]  And of course, I went with my Mamma.  But for once, I wasn’t the only 30-something son accompanying his mother to a formal occasion.  Haha!

Img_0230Img_0232Img_0229Img_0233Img_0228Img_0231

One Response to “Wedding at the Neighborhood Pool”

  1. Chichi Says:

    I agree with Sealling!. I loved the way you described this wedding, it is pretty funny.


Leave a Reply

