Time for a Piano Blog???

November 3, 2009

I have been playing my piano a good bit lately and have happened upon some really great techniques that have pushed my playing better than ever before.  Obviously, the practice helps.  But the style of practice, I believe, has helped even more.

So I have been searching for good piano blogs on the ‘net and have found very very few that are worth anyone’s time.  So I’m wondering if it’s time that I begin my own Piano Blog.  I’ll have to do some thinking on it.  But I can see it as being valuable to me, certainly, but also to others.  In the end, though, it’s not like I’m planning to write tutorials or anything.  I just thought it’d be neat to take the same approach as Julie and Julia, but instead of working my way through a cookbook, I’d be working my way through music and learning since the advent of the pianoforte.

One blog post in particular on returning to Bach resonated with me completely.  It is just so utterly humbling that we are taught to think of these pieces as for children these days.  But while this may be the case when speaking of technique, it certainly does not equate to being elementary in composition by any means.  And I find myself ready to absorb all I can from Bach, now that I’m “more mature.”

So, is it a good idea to spin off yet another blog?  I’m not sure.  But it will be good for my soul, and maybe give me more reason to stay focused on my true musical goals rather than bumbling around aimlessly as I’ve done up until now, my 37th year…

Leave a Reply

